New Alipore College Estd : August 1963. Affiliated to University of Calcutta
NAAC Re-accredited with "B+" grade (2016)

Department of Physics

Teachers Profile

Dr. Bhaskar Bhattacharyya

Associate Professor & HOD, Physics

View Profile

Dr. Avijit paul

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Dr. Swarnapratim Bhattacharyya

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Dr. Somdatta Bhattacharya

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Mr Kartik Adhikari

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Dr.Rupali Maji

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Dr. Sajahan Molla

Assistant Professor, Physics

View Profile

Department of Physics of New Alipore College boasts of proper infrastructure for the teaching of Physics in the Undergraduate level and a friendly atmosphere that encourages the young students to develop skill in the subject. The departmental library gives them easy and instant access of the books for both general study and reference purposes. The instruments are sufficient to carry out experiments referred to in the syllabus or for deeper understanding of the subject. The teachers here provide assistance to the students both in the classes and outside.

Department has been enriched by the profound knowledges from the retired teachers like Sri Kashinath Mondal, Sri Akhil Kumar Bose, Dr. Dhiranjan Roy who later moved to JU, Sri Samir Kumar   Bose, Dr. Asokenath Bose who later moved to JU and became the Vice Chancellor of JU, Sri Pralhas Ghorrui, Dr. Monoranjan Biswas, Dr. Satyendranath Maity, Dr. Indranil Mitra and late Dr. Debrupa Chakraverty.

The Department is proud to have an erudite faculty and alumni well established in reputed institutions all over the world. Dr. Swarnapratim Bhattacharyya, Dr. Somdatta Bhattacharyya, Prof. Kartick adhikari and Dr. Rupali Maji  are actively engaged in pioneering research in collaboration with different universities and research institutes. Dr. Swarnapratim Bhattacharyya has supervised the Ph.D work of one scholar.

Ex Students of these departments are placed in Various colleges and Research Institutions.  Dr. Bhaswati Bhattacharyya is currently reader of National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Pune University campus. Dr. Tilak Sinha is currently Assistant Professor in Narasimha Dutta College, Howrah. Dr. Dipankar Bhattacharyya is currently Associate Professor in Santipur College. Dr. Siddartha Sinha is currently Assistant Professor in Khatra Adibasi Mahavidyalaya. Dr. Deboprem Bhattacharyya is currently working  under WBES.

Department is proud to have exstudents like Dr. Hisey Lama who is currently engaged in post Doc work in  Institute for Basic Science, South Korea., Ms. Salma Khatun who is currently engaged in an internship programme at   Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel and Dr. Jayshankar Saha is engaged in the Post Doc work at Laval University, Quebec City, Canada.  Apart from these, many students are currenly doing their Ph.d in Physics.

SL.No Title Routine View
1 Odd Sem 2019-20
Departmental Notices
SL.No Subject Download / View
1 WhatsApp Joining Link
2 Schedule for Tutorial Examinations (SEM-6)
3 Schedule for Internal Examinations (Even Semester)
Student's Progression
SL.No Subject Download / View




a) Departmental Library:

Departmental Library is enriched with the text and reference books of new syllabus as well as old valuable books. Open access system in the Library attracts the students.

b)  Internet facilities for Staff & Students:

Teachers may access internet facility in the Department. Free Internet facility is provided to the students at the Library. Limited access Wifi facility has been installed recently.

c)  Class rooms with ICT facility :

One Class room is equipped with modern    ICT facility.

d)   Laboratories –                              

  1. One General Laboratory – for Physics General students
  2. Three Dark Rooms – for the experiments on light
  3. One Electronics Laboratory – for both Honours and General students
  4. One Electrical Laboratory – for Honours students
  5. One Computer Centre – for both Honours and General students



Celebration of Teachers Day

Participation in Avensis , 2016-17, 2017-18

Seminars in the Department

Prof. Anjan Barman  of SNBNCBS delivered a talk on “Ultrafast Spin Dynamics” on 6.04.2018


Prof. Souranshu Mukhopadhyay delivered a talk on “What Light can do in 21st Century” on 28th Feb 2019.

Collaboration and MoU
Contact Us